Cebu Pacific scheduled flights to continue amid MECQ

Marje Pelayo   •   April 12, 2021   •   350

MANILA, Philippines – Budget carrier Cebu Pacific said it will continue to operate scheduled flights amid the declaration of modified enhanced community quarantine (MECQ) in the NCR Plus area covering Metro Manila, Bulacan, Cavite, Laguna, and Rizal from April 12 to 31.

In an advisory, Cebu Pacific said it will continue to serve essential travelers in compliance with the directive of the Department of Transportation (DOTr) which allows only authorized persons outside of residence (APORs) to travel for the time being.

“Cebu Pacific will continue to operate its domestic and international flights as scheduled. However, passengers who wish to postpone their flights and those traveling for non-essential reasons may select their preferred option through the Manage Booking portal on the Cebu Pacific website,” the firm said.

Affected passengers may do so up to two hours before their scheduled time of departure.

Passengers are given the option to rebook (unlimited) or the two-year travel fund option for their affected flight.

For updated advisories, the public is advised to refer to Cebu Pacific’s official website

IATF places Cagayan, Apayao, Benguet under MECQ until May 23

Robie de Guzman   •   May 10, 2021


MANILA, Philippines – The Inter-Agency Task Force for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases (IATF-MEID) has placed Cagayan, Apayao, and Benguet under modified enhanced community quarantine (MECQ) amid the continuing threat of the novel coronavirus disease (COVID-19), Malacañang said on Monday.

Under IATF Resolution No. 114-C issued on May 9, the three provinces will be under MECQ from May 10 to 23.

“Upon the recommendation of the Screening and Validation Committee, Cagayan, Apayao, and Benguet shall be placed under modified enhanced community quarantine from May 10, 2021 to May 23, 2021. The risk-level classifications of the aforementioned provinces shall be without prejudice to their reclassification as may be warranted and the declaration of localized enhanced community quarantine in critical areas,” the resolution read.

Under MECQ status, non-essential travels are prohibited and non-essential services and establishments are partially shuttered.

Other areas under MECQ until May 14 include the National Capital Region, Cavite, Bulacan, Rizal, Laguna, Zamboanga City, Santiago City, Isabela, Quirino and Ifugao.

TAGS   , ,

Duterte may announce new quarantine status this week – Palace

Robie de Guzman   •   May 10, 2021

MANILA, Philippines – President Rodrigo Duterte is expected to announce this week the new community quarantine classifications to be implemented on May 15, Malacañang said Monday.

Presidential Spokesperson Harry Roque issued the statement when asked if the president will announce the new quarantine status when he holds his weekly public address on Monday night.

“Siguradong ia-announce niya ang bagong quarantine classifications bago mag-May 15 dahil May 14 nga yung last day,” he said during an online briefing.

The National Capital Region (NCR), Bulacan, Cavite, Rizal, and Laguna – collectively tagged as NCR Plus – are under modified enhanced community quarantine (MECQ) until May 14.

Roque said the Inter-Agency Task Force for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases (IATF-MEID) has yet to submit to the president its recommendation on the new quarantine status.

“Tingin ko po hindi pa pupuwede kasi wala pa po yung rekomendasyon ng IATF sa kanya. Hindi pa po nagpupulong ang IATF para po sa final recommendation on quarantine classifications,” he said.

He said that based on the current data on the healthcare utilization rate and the COVID-19 situation, there is a possibility that the community quarantine status will be eased in the NCR Plus.

Roque, however, said that the decision rests with the IATF on whether or not to shift the NCR Plus to less restrictive community quarantine level.

“I will not second guess po the IATF, but pursuant to the formula, it is possible. Again, the final decision rest with the IATF,” he said.

Zamboanga City was also placed under MECQ until May 14 while Tacloban City was shifted to modified general community quarantine (MGCQ) until May 31.

Other areas placed under MECQ until May 31 are Santiago City, Quirino, and Abra.

The areas of Baguio City, Ifugao, Kalinga, Mountain Province, Cagayan, Isabela, Nueva Vizcaya, Batangas, Quezon, Iligan City, Davao City, and Lanao del Sur are under GCQ until May 31.

IATF places Zamboanga City under MECQ, Tacloban City under MGCQ

Robie de Guzman   •   May 7, 2021

MANILA, Philippines — The Philippine government’s task force for COVID-19 response has placed Zamboanga City under modified enhanced community quarantine (MECQ), Malacañang announced Friday.

In an announcement aired over state-run PTV, Presidential Spokesperson Harry Roque said the new quarantine classification for Zamboanga City is effective immediately until May 14.

Tacloban City will also shift to modified general community quarantine (MGCQ) until May 31, he added.

Roque said the quarantine classification for the two areas was approved on Thursday by the Inter-Agency Task Force for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases (IATF-MEID) and is contained in the IATF Resolution No. 114.

Zamboanga City Mayor Beng Climaco earlier issued an executive order declaring her city under MECQ starting May 8 due to an “overwhelming” rise in active COVID-19 cases.


The Philippine Broadcast Hub

UNTV, 915 Barangay Philam,

EDSA, Quezon City M.M. 1104

(+632) 8396-8688 (Tel) (General inquiries)


UNTV is a major TV broadcast network with 24-hour programming. An Ultra High Frequency station with strong brand content that appeal to everyone, UNTV is one of the most trusted and successful Philippine networks that guarantees wholesome and quality viewing experience.