Emergency Hotlines: LANDLINE (+63) 2 911 – 8688

Posts Tagged ‘earthquake’

5.5 magnitude quake jolts Surigao del Sur

Posted on Saturday, 13 July 2019 10:51 AM | No Comments
A magnitude 5.5 earthquake jolted Surigao del Sur and its neighboring provinces early morning Saturday, July 13. According to the Philippine Institute of Volcanology and Seismology (Phivolcs), the earthquake, recorded...

Californians remain alert for earthquakes after two major ones in two days

Posted on Tuesday, 9 July 2019 01:19 PM | No Comments
Californians near the epicenter of Friday night’s 7.1-magnitude earthquake are staying cautious about more quakes as aftershocks continued in the following two days. Friday’s earthquake was the largest to occur...

Magnitude 7.5 quake shakes Australian City

Posted on Monday, 24 June 2019 05:12 PM | No Comments
A deep earthquake of magnitude 7.5 struck off the coasts of East Timor and Indonesia on Monday (June 24) with the shaking felt in Australia’s northern city of Darwin, about...

Tsunami warning issued after strong quake hits northwest Japan

Posted on Wednesday, 19 June 2019 11:03 AM | No Comments
JAPAN — A strong and shallow earthquake struck Japan’s northwest coast around Niigata prefecture on Tuesday (June 18), triggering a small tsunami, shaking buildings and cutting power to around 9,000 buildings....

1 killed, 11 injured after a magnitude 8 earthquake strikes Peru

Posted on Monday, 27 May 2019 04:19 PM | No Comments
A magnitude 8 earthquake has killed one person and injured 11 in the northern Amazon in Peru on Sunday (May 26). More than 50 homes were destroyed including schools, churches,...

No Filipinos hurt in Papua New Guinea quake—DFA

Posted on Wednesday, 8 May 2019 05:43 PM | No Comments
The Department of Foreign Affairs (DFA) has reported that no Filipinos were hurt during the magnitude 7.2 earthquake in Papua New Guinea on Tuesday (May 7). There are approximately 36,000...

Comelec prepares contingency plan in case of earthquake during elections

Posted on Tuesday, 7 May 2019 06:39 PM | No Comments
The Commission on Elections (Comelec) has laid out a contingency plan in case of an earthquake or any emergency during the election day on May 13. The Philippine National Police...

NGCP: Luzon grid on yellow alert for 3 hours

Posted on Monday, 6 May 2019 03:31 PM | No Comments
MANILA, Philippines – The National Grid Corporation of the Philippines (NGCP) on Monday (May 6) placed the Luzon grid on yellow alert for three hours. In an advisory posted on...

Magnitude 5.4 quake jolts parts of Ilocos Norte

Posted on Monday, 6 May 2019 01:52 PM | No Comments
A magnitude 5.4 earthquake jolted parts of Ilocos Norte and neighboring areas on Monday (May 6), the Philippine Institute of Volcanology and Seismology (Phivolcs) said. In its bulletin, the tectonic...

Magnitude 5.5 earthquake rocks Occidental Mindoro

Posted on Saturday, 4 May 2019 10:55 AM | No Comments
MANILA, Philippines — A magnitude 5.5 earthquake jolted parts of Occidental Mindoro on Saturday (May 4), the Philippine Institute of Volcanology and Seismology (Phivolcs) said. In its earthquake bulletin, Phivolcs...